cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Celebrating Black Musicians, Composers, and Vocalists in Classical Music

JamiePandora

Composers Saint-Georges, Coleridge-Taylor, Bonds & StillComposers Saint-Georges, Coleridge-Taylor, Bonds & Still

February celebrates Black History Month and as the Classical Programmer at Pandora, I am excited to share the ‘Black Classical’ Mode on Classical Radio. ‘Black Classical’ features Black composers, vocalists, instrumentalists, and conductors from the 18th to 21st Century. 

Classical Music has a notoriously white-male dominated canon. I studied music (Musicology and Ethnomusicology) at the University of Michigan and the University of Texas, and I only learned about Black Composer contributions to the genre after leaving academia and doing my own research along with the help of organizations like the Institute for Composer Diversity. I am heartened to know that there is a large push to educate Classical Music lovers about artists of color who have contributed to, and continue to contribute to, the world of “Classical” Music. However, there is still much work to do.

Below is just a taste, in no particular order, of the artists you will hear on the ‘Black Classical’ Mode on Classical Radio.

‘Black Classical’ is available year round, so give your favorites a thumbs up! Check out the mode here.

Carlos SimonCarlos Simon

American Composer Carlos Simon explores themes of social justice, with his music ranging from concert music for large and small ensembles to film scores with influences of jazz, gospel, and neo-romanticism. He is currently the Composer-in-Residence for the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the inaugural Boston Symphony Orchestra Composer Chair, and was nominated for a 2023 GRAMMY award for his album Requiem for the Enslaved.

Florence Beatrice PriceFlorence Beatrice Price