cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ideas: Language preference for stations

Ideas: Language preference for stations

Krümelmonster
Underground

Is there a way to control what languages you hear music in? It's really REALLY frustrating to try listening in any language other than English. 

Here's the crazy part: if you search for a German song and let it autoplay, Pandora will play pretty much only German bands. But if you actually start a station with German bands or songs, it plays almost exclusively in English and in incompatible genres. It is a horrible listening experience. 

Does it make any sense to start a station with German metal songs and then have the station play 2 Irish folk songs in a row? No. I don't like sitting around hitting thumbs down on 50 songs in a row while I wait for something I actually want to hear. 

I've been using Pandora for nearly 12 years but I'm seriously considering canceling my subscription and using something else because of this. 

Moderator Edit: Edited title for clarity

Labels (1)
18 Comments
AdamPandora
Community Manager
Community Manager
Status changed to: Open Ideas

@Krümelmonster I moved your post to the Feature Requests space as there isn't currently a way to select a language preference on your account.

This will give others around the Community to upvote your suggestion, and express their interest in getting it added to the service well.

We appreciate your feedback! 

SilentProwler
Underground

Ooh, having the ability to filter by languages would be AWESOME. Maybe a setting for playlist/station with a drop down box or somehow able to add what languages you want to listen to for a given station.

DubstepNTabCATS
Local Performer