cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ideas: Language preference for stations

Ideas: Language preference for stations

Krümelmonster
Underground

Is there a way to control what languages you hear music in? It's really REALLY frustrating to try listening in any language other than English. 

Here's the crazy part: if you search for a German song and let it autoplay, Pandora will play pretty much only German bands. But if you actually start a station with German bands or songs, it plays almost exclusively in English and in incompatible genres. It is a horrible listening experience. 

Does it make any sense to start a station with German metal songs and then have the station play 2 Irish folk songs in a row? No. I don't like sitting around hitting thumbs down on 50 songs in a row while I wait for something I actually want to hear. 

I've been using Pandora for nearly 12 years but I'm seriously considering canceling my subscription and using something else because of this. 

Moderator Edit: Edited title for clarity

Labels (1)
18 Comments
guillaume
Local Performer

YES please I would love this feature to be added, I've had the same frustrating experience as @Krümelmonster except in my case I'm trying to make stations with songs in either French or Japanese language.

DMMc
Local Performer

Up until recently haven't had any problems with language on anything to do with Pandora but for some reason in the last week I have been getting about every third advertisement in Spanish.  Now although I took a year of Spanish in high school 40 plus years ago it means absolutely nothing to me now and I cannot understand it. What I usually do when this happens is to disconnect from Pandora and reconnect to get around the advertisement.

If nothing else make it an option to put primary language into your profile and then draw against it for music and advertisements.

mcline
Local Performer