cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is your Creative Process?

ChrisPandora

Hey all - I am curious as to what your creative process is when writing and producing new music?

For me, I almost always start a new idea with a simple drum pattern and work on the bass line. I have been playing bass for about 20 years so I feel most comfortable with it plus it really dictates the mood/feeling of the song. I've also been playing synth bass lately to help mix up the variety of the ideas.

Once I feel like I have a solid foundation, I start to layer with other instruments but I rarely do that until I am happy with the bass. 

What do you do?

Chris | Friendly Neighborhood AMP Support
8 Replies

KUKIZOE
Opening Act

I always write my lyrics first then decide on a key that conveys whatever mood I take away from the lyrics. Then I work on the background music and all that good stuff. 

♡,
Kuki Yamazoe (KUKIZOE)

ChrisPandora

@KUKIZOE That's so interesting! When you are writing your lyrics, do you have a melody in mind or do you come up with that after the lyrics are all done?

In my opinion, lyrics are so difficult to write. I feel really fortunate that my collaborator takes over with them hahaha.

Chris | Friendly Neighborhood AMP Support

Thegypsycaravan
Underground
We do a lot of free jamming and when we find a cool riff, rhythm or melody
we stop and talk about it and develop the idea. Our vocalist we throw some
lyrical ideas and melodic phrases in to help him get his flow down.
Sometimes one of us will bring an idea from home to rehearsal also.

runner1
Local Performer

i feel the same way.

im working on my first few songs right now and its honestly a pain in the **ahem** to mold the lyrics to the beats of mine.

what genre are you? im rap.

Thegypsycaravan
Underground
We're playing hard rock/metal with rap-scream style vocals

MTN-Jer
Underground