cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bluetooth Speaker Won't Work with MacBook

oliviaann1906
Local Performer

I'm a dance instructor and at work I run my music off the studio MacBook connected to a bluetooth JBL. For a while this was working fine, all my audio including my Pandora playlists and my students taking class via Zoom came through the speakers. In the last two weeks, though, all my audio EXCEPT Pandora would come through the speakers.

I haven't figured out how to troubleshoot this since the rest of the computer audio comes through just fine. Nothing is muted on my Pandora account as far as I can tell, and the site loads just fine and the controls are responsive, just no sound. I also haven't yet found a related article that has given me any useful tools so that's why I'm making my own.

Has anyone else run into this? It isn't an issue with Spotify, iTunes, or any other streaming site or service that my coworkers use.

mod edit: changed title for clarity

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies

AlyssaPandora
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hey there, @oliviaann1906. 👋

Sorry for the continued trouble. To keep the community space organized, I moved your post over to the Desktop forum. 

I would recommend disconnecting / reconnecting your JBL bluetooth speaker device.

• On your Mac, click the Bluetooth status icon Screen Shot 2020-09-23 at 9.15.49 AM.png in the menu bar. 
  • Choose Open Bluetooth Preferences.
  • Click the "X" next to your JBL speaker.
  • Then, reconnect the JBL speaker after removing it - this should refresh the bluetooth connection.
    • On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Bluetooth.
    • Select the JBL speaker device in the list, then click Connect.

++

If you still have trouble, could you share more information about how you're listening?

• Are you using a web browser? Which one?
  • Or, are you using the Pandora desktop app?

Let me know. 🎧